Crochet · Geeky throw

DBZ Square

So with all the things that happened last week (see yesterday’s blog post) I forgot to update on the first square in my geeky throw.

The Dragon Ball Z Square was my first square. It’s rare that I get to crochet something with the Hubby in mind. So this was a great chance to make him something.

So I started with one colour and all was good.

I’ve just realised my hook finishes off the Goku theme.

The pattern and repetition were really easy to pick up and do.

Then I started to add colours.

Mary Bobbins!

There were only 3 colours I didn’t think it would be that bad. I mainly knit these days, and all my adventures in colour work have been stranded. I love stranded work, flat or in the round. So I figured I could just apply the same principles to this. For the most part it’s true. Except for the floats. You have to make more effort to hide them in crochet. Normally I work straight from the ball not really an option here so I had to use bobbins. But I don’t have posh knitting bobbins so I used pegs. Low tech solutions for the win.

Half way point at the back

This came together surprisingly easily. This is the halfway point at the back, and you can see the floats which look pretty neat.

Almost done.

At this point boy child took one look and announced “Daddy!” I was pleased if a 2 year old can recognise it I’m on the right track.

And it’s done.

This came out so much better than I expected. And Mr Bunny loved it which was the best part. On to the second square now.

Leave a comment