Crafting · knitting · Life · Throw Back Thursday

Throwback Thursday – Yesterday’s Active wear

I thought about throw back Thursdays and posting old pieces of my work didn’t do a whole lot for me. Sure I like seeing my old work but when I do I cringe and think how I would make now.

So I sort of abandoned throwback Thursday for a while.

That was until one of my wonderful friends found something at in a donation pile from where they work and after a few messages asking if I’d like them (to be fair they should have just said I have books give me money). They were knitting and sewing books from the 1950’s and they are amazing. And after reading some of these and loving the simple lifestyle I knew I had to share it.

When knitting books were hard backed and not printed off the Internet

So the book is knitted garments for the family it’s a 50’s reprint from an older book looking at it.

How gorgeous is the inside cover. I’d paper a wall in this print.

One of my pet hates in life is active wear. Or more precisely active wear worn not in the gym. Lycra has its place and that’s not in the street, at the supermarket or in a restaurant. (No Brenda, non of us believe you’re going to the gym you’re in work for the next 12 hours and you’re chugging down Monster like it’s going out of fashion.)

It seems active wear is the new trendy status symbol. But what about the vintage 1950’s alternative? Well let’s just say its a knitted fabric, and by knitted we mean actually knitted out of wool!

For her, a lovely two piece consisting of a fabulous and casual top with fetching shorts.

All done in simple stocking stitch so as to make it functional and easy to wear.

I’m not sure about the shorts, I think they would become uncomfortable fast, and I’m saying this as someone who had to wear PE knickers at school (I don’t want to explain too many flash backs, Google it)

For him.

A smart knitted sports top with simple but eye catching motif on the front. And apparently goes well with flannels (yep no stretchy fabric here only flannel)

I am not sure how well wool (particularly non synthetic fibres) would work for really strenuous gym workouts. Although wool socks for walking are amazing.

All joking aside I think the designs are amazing and so classy. These look amazing and I’d rather see people in these than active wear. I’m just not sure how practical they are. Although I can’t come to the gym as I haven’t finished knitting my workout clothes seems like the greatest excuse ever.

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Yesterday’s Active wear

Leave a comment