Geek life · Podcast · reviews

Friday Review – Lore

As crafters we have a rare gift superpower, we can create beautiful works of art whilst binge watching huge amounts of TV on Netflix (or Prime or Crunchy roll).

I have finished many TV series whilst knitting or felting. Anime is one of my favourite things to binge craft watch. Along with excessively violent TV shows such as Banshee, there is something amusing about knitting to shows like this, it’s like knitting to Kerrang (I also do this.).

However since I have been dabbling in sewing I’ve not have the luxury of craft watching, I have no TV in my dinning room where I sew. So I sat listening to Deezer instead and then one day Deezer recommend a podcast based on the music I listened to. Now I have usually shied away from podcasts. In my mind they were just conspiracy nuts yelling at the moon. Can I just say I was utterly wrong. (I’m sure there are some where conspiracy nuts yell at the moon). There is actually some amazing original content out there.

Deezer recommended me one particular Podcast, Lore.

Lore is a non fiction podcast that deals with the truth behind the legend. Created by Arron Mahnke in 2015 this bi-weekly podcast looks at a legend or story, from ghosts, vampires, demons and processed dolls. Arron tells the story in a way that is both gripping and educational. I have learnt so much grim history from this, that will be great for… Well its probably not after dinner or pub quiz material.

One of my favourite episodes is the second episode “The bloody pit” which goes into the history of the Hoosac railway tunnel. It was a classic ghost story that resonated with me as it linked to miners from across the river in Cornwall who had travelled to America only to die in horrible circumstances. The way the tale is told is very much like the old fashioned camp fire ghost story. It’s like “Are you afraid of the Dark” but for grown ups and true.

It’s not really suitable for kids, as my daughter accidently discovered, it’s not because of course language as there is none, its more the nature of the stories. I forgot that I was listening to it one afternoon when she decided to come watch me sew. The episode was one called. “Unboxed”, it’s about a doll called Robert that may or may not be processed by an evil spirit. Cue several days explaining that none of her toys are evil or processed. I won’t make that mistake again.

I recommend Lore if you want amazing story telling or a story that gives you goose bumps. Lore is available on most podcast apps or direct from here.

It also has a series of books and a TV series (which cover some of the episodes, and yes the doll one is on this.) I’ve yet to try the books but the TV series is very good and available on Amazon Prime.

One thought on “Friday Review – Lore

  1. I love listening to Lore, also! My husband and I have a joke about Creepy Doll Movies (I won’t watch them, too creepy) and so when he came home as I was listening to “Unboxed” I had to tease him about Creepy Doll Podcasts. 🙂

Leave a comment